Photo: Katriina Mäkinen


Tempo is hosting six documentary competitions. These are Stefan Jarl International Documentary Award, Tempo Documentary Award, Tempo Short Award, New Doc, Tempo Pitch and Short Dox Radio.

Stefan Jarl International Documentary Award

Stefan Jarl International Documentary Award is named after the swedish documentary filmmaker that is known for legendary documentaries as Dom kallar oss mods and Ett anständigt liv. The award was founded in 2012 with the purpose to highlight the best foreign documentaries from the past year. The winner of the Stefan Jarl Int. Documentary Award 2016 was Mr Gaga by Tomer Heymann. The honorable-award was divided between Flotel Europa by Vladimir Tomić and Pietra Brettkelly’s A Flickering Truth. 

The winner 2015 became Ioanis Nuguet with the film Spartacus and Cassandra, 2014 years winner was the amazingly beautiful Stop the Pounding Heart by Roberto Minervini. Previous winners are the palestinian documentary 5 Broken Cameras by Emad Burnat and Guy Davidi, which also was nominated for an Academy Award in 2013, and Sarah Polley’s much acclaimed film Stories We Tell. The Award is presented with support from The Barbro Osher Pro Suecia Foundation.

Tempo Documentary Award

Tempo Documentary Award is Sweden’s biggest documentary film competition where the winning director is awarded with 75 000 kronor. The award is presented with support from the Swedish Film Institute and Stockholm City. This year’s winner of Tempo Documentary Award was Martha & Niki by Tora Mkandawire Mårtens.

The winners 2015 were I am Dublin by Ahmed Abdullahi, David Aronowitsch, Sharmarke Binyusuf and Anna Persson. Previous winners has been I Stop Time by Gunilla Bresky, Mia Engberg’s Belleville Baby, Videocracy by Erik Gandini and Michael Wenzers At Night I Fly. 

Tempo Short Award

Tempo Short Award is a competition for best swedish short documentary where the winning director is awarded with 75 000 kronor. The award is presented with support from the Swedish Film Institute and Filmregion Stockholm-Mälardalen. This year’s winner of Tempo Short Award was Ida Lindgrens The body is a lonesome place while the honorable-award was given to Moa Junströms The loony-bin!

2015 winner was My Sandström with her film Kulturpengar while Knutte Westers Dawn In a City Without Name won 2014. Previous winners are among others The Quiet One by Ina Holmqvist och Emelie Wallgren, Dagar emellan by Erik Bäfving as well as last years winner Kärleksförmedlingen by Martina Carlstedt.

New Doc

New Doc is an award for unestablished filmmakers from the region of Stockholm. The Award is given to a promising new documentary film director and consists of 50 000 kronor from Filmbasen/ Film Stockholm, whereof half in technical support. This year’s winner of New Doc became Roxane von Gerber Hedayat and Moa Kjellstrand with their film Hotel Kristineberg. The honorable award was given to Ika Johannessons Familjen.

The winner 2015 was Anna Padillas Only three minutes left… 2014 year’s winner was Still Born by Åsa Sandzén, who later won a Guldbagge for best documentary short. Previous winners before that are among others Staden och jag by Moa Junström och Irene Lopez’s Pinocchio utan näsa.

Short Dox Radio

Short Dox Radio is an annual open competition where free storytelling is encouraged. The frame is the same every year: a three-minute story will be chosen by a jury and awarded with 5 000 kronor.

Short Dox Radio 2015 was awarded Sara Villius Passageraren, 2014 was awarded to Vänner by Juana Owusuwho managed to greatly capture a big story in a little format.

Tempo Pitch

Tempo Pitch is a competition where film directors and producers presents their new projects in front of a jury and audience. The award consists of 75 000 kronor in collaboration support. Tempo Pitch is arranged in collaboration with and financed by SVT Dokumentär, The Swedish Film Institute and Filmregion Stockhlom-Mälardalen. The winners of Tempo Pitch 2016 were Ellen Fiske and Joanna Karlberg with their project Josefin & Florin


Nominees for Tempo Short Award

Eight short documentaries are competing in the Tempo Short Award for the prestigious prize for best documentary short film about a maximum of 30 minutes. Of the eight nominees, two of them have premiere screenings during the Tempo Documentary Festival 2017. Read more about the nominees here!  

Nominees for Tempo Documentary Award

The nominations for Tempo Documentary Award is now official! It is one of the biggest competions for long documentaries (over 50 minutes). All the nominated films will be screened at the 18th edition of Tempo Documentary Festival which takes place from 6 to 12 March 2017. Read more about the nominees here!

Nominated for New Doc

New Doc is Tempo Documentary Festival's talent award for promising but as yet unestablished Swedish filmmakers. Nine films are nominated in the competition, and many of them are Swedish premieres during the festival: Izabela, Promise, Raised by Krump, See the Man, Selfie and shame. Learn more about all the nominees here!  

Kim opens Tempo!

"Kim" opens Tempo Documentary Festival in 2017 and thereby get world premiere! The film is a intimate portrait of Kim Anderzon, a feminist role model who became one of our greatest actors. She created a life where the theater was the focus of both relationships and family. Read more about the movie here!

Tempo on Instagram

Read more!